Quick answer: RandD UK is active at Companies House (06648783, checked 27 October 2026) and is part of K3 Advisory Group. We found no published fee, minimum fee or Trustpilot rating for it in the sources we checked, so we cannot say who is cheaper. Uplift Tax is an introducer: you pay the specialist, not us.
Asking what percentage it costs? Uplift Tax is an introducer. The specialist pays us a share of its fee. You do not pay Uplift Tax anything. The specialist's percentage of the successful claim is agreed in writing with you before any work starts. Read how our fees work, or send your numbers for a written fee estimate and ask RandD UK for theirs, so you can compare like with like. If your accountant is the alternative, see specialist versus accountant.
Facts checked 27 October 2026. Sources: the Companies House record for RANDD UK LIMITED, and the footer of randduk.com, which states "randd uk ltd (randd) is a subsidiary of K3 Advisory Group Limited. Registered number: 06648783". The group company table in the K3 Advisory Group privacy policy also lists RandD UK Ltd 06648783.
Comparison table
"Not stated in the sources we checked" means we did not find the fact on randduk.com, in the group's published pages or at Companies House on 27 October 2026. It does not mean RandD UK does not offer it: ask the firm for it in writing. The firm's website is randduk.com.
| RandD UK | Uplift Tax (introducer) | |
|---|---|---|
| Typical fee % | Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026) | Percentage of the successful claim, agreed in writing with the specialist before any work starts |
| Fee model | Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026) | Percentage of the successful claim, paid to the specialist. You do not pay Uplift Tax anything. |
| Minimum fee | Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026) | Ask for the specialist's minimum fee in writing before work starts |
| HMRC enquiry support | Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026) | Scope set out in writing in the engagement letter; ask every adviser for it in writing |
| Sector focus | Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026) | Introduction to an HMRC-registered specialist |
| Trustpilot rating, count and date | Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026) | Not rated: Uplift Tax is an introducer and this page shows no rating for it |
| Capital allowances offered | Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026) | Covered in our eligibility assessment; the specialist confirms scope in writing |
| Companies House status, number and last accounts | Active, company number 06648783, last accounts made up to 31 May 2025 (Companies House, 27 Oct 2026) | Active, company number 12642550 (Blue Llama Ltd, trading as Uplift Tax), last accounts made up to 29 November 2025 (Companies House, 27 Oct 2026) |
Companies House registered name: RANDD UK LIMITED. Registered office: K3 House, 5 Springfield Court, Summerfield Road, Bolton, BL3 2NT. Because RandD UK is part of a group, check which group company signs your engagement letter.
Who each option may suit
RandD UK may suit you if
- You want to deal directly with one consultancy under one engagement letter, rather than being introduced.
- You are comfortable engaging a firm that is part of a wider advisory group, and you have its written fee, minimum fee and enquiry terms.
- You have already had a scoping conversation and are happy with the terms offered.
Uplift Tax may suit you if
- You want a written eligibility read covering R&D, capital allowances and Land Remediation Relief before you commit to any adviser.
- You want an introduction to an HMRC-registered specialist, and you do not mind that the specialist pays us a share of its fee.
- You are a first-time claimant unsure whether you have a defensible R&D case.
When the other option is the better choice
If RandD UK has already given you a written quote with terms you understand, and you are content with a direct engagement, adding an introduction step may not help you. If, on the other hand, you do not yet have any written terms from anyone, getting two or three quotes, ours and RandD UK's included, is the safest way to compare.
Worked example: a £200,000 claim
Here "claim" means the HMRC benefit, the cash value to your company. RandD UK's fee is not published in the sources we checked, so we cannot calculate it and will not guess.
| Option | Published fee basis | Fee on a £200,000 benefit | Net of fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| RandD UK | Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026) | Not published; ask for a written quote stating the percentage, any minimum fee, any VAT and the enquiry terms | Cannot be calculated |
Uplift Tax: the specialist's fee for your claim is quoted in writing before any work starts, so we do not print a figure here. Send us your numbers and we will come back with a written estimate for your claim.
When you compare quotes, set them side by side on the same four lines: percentage or fixed sum, minimum fee, VAT, and what HMRC enquiry support covers.
HMRC enquiry support: ask for it in writing
We found no published statement of RandD UK's enquiry terms, and the scope of enquiry support from the specialist we introduce is set out in writing in the engagement letter. That is why we suggest asking every adviser, us included, for the same thing: what is covered, what it costs and what is excluded, in writing, before you sign. Our guide to HMRC R&D enquiries explains what an enquiry involves.
How Uplift Tax works
Uplift Tax is an introducer. The specialist pays us a share of its fee. You do not pay Uplift Tax anything. We run a written eligibility assessment and, if there is a claim worth making, introduce you to an HMRC-registered specialist. The specialist owns the engagement letter, the fee and the claim. See how it works and how our fees work.
What both have in common
- Both work under the same merged R&D scheme rules (see the merged scheme guide).
- Both claims need the Additional Information Form to be completed correctly (see the AIF guide).
- Neither can guarantee an outcome, because eligibility depends on your facts and on HMRC.
You can change adviser between accounting periods. Use the calculator to size your claim first, and see the comparison hub for other firms.
Company facts
RandD UK: RANDD UK LIMITED, company number 06648783, Active, incorporated 16 July 2008, last accounts made up to 31 May 2025 (Companies House, 27 Oct 2026). Uplift Tax is a trading name of Blue Llama Ltd, company number 12642550, status Active, last accounts made up to 29 November 2025 (Companies House, checked 27 Oct 2026).
Methodology: facts come only from public pages and registers, dated and linked. We do not infer or estimate facts about other firms. Uplift Tax is an introducer service, not a tax adviser, accountant or legal firm. Nothing here is a recommendation of one firm over another. Earlier versions of this page made claims about RandD UK that we could not source; they have been removed.