Quick answer: EmpowerRD's Trustpilot page showed 4.8 from 82 reviews on 27 October 2026. Its pricing page lists a 6% flat plan and a tiered Growth plan from 6% to 0.5%, with a minimum fee from £4,000. Uplift Tax is an introducer: the specialist sets its fee as a percentage of the successful claim, agreed in writing before work starts.
At a glance: facts checked 27 October 2026
Facts checked 27 October 2026. Sources: EmpowerRD pricing, EmpowerRD on Trustpilot, EmpowerRD website, Companies House for EmpowerRD and Uplift Tax.
| Criterion | EmpowerRD | Uplift Tax (introducer) |
|---|---|---|
| Typical fee % | 6% flat plan; Growth plan tiered from 6% to 0.5% by benefit band (EmpowerRD pricing page, checked 27 October 2026) | Percentage of the successful claim, agreed in writing with the specialist before any work starts |
| Fee model | Online platform (its website), with percentage-of-benefit plans (see the fee row). Whether the fee depends on the claim succeeding: Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026) | Introducer. The HMRC-registered specialist we introduce you to prepares the claim and sets its fee |
| Minimum fee | From £4,000 (flat plan) and £5,000 (Growth plan) (pricing page, checked 27 October 2026) | Ask for it in the specialist's written quote |
| HMRC enquiry support | Included on the Growth plan. On the flat plan it is an extra, with the hourly rate not stated. The pricing page also states a refund if an enquiry fails (pricing page, checked 27 October 2026) | The scope is set out in writing in the engagement letter; ask for it before you sign (see our enquiry guide) |
| Sector focus | Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026) | Not applicable: we introduce you to a specialist, so ask the specialist about its sector experience |
| Trustpilot rating, count and date | 4.8 from 82 reviews on Trustpilot, checked 27 October 2026 | Not shown. We do not display a rating for ourselves on this page |
| Capital allowances offered | Not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026) | Not covered on this page: ask for the scope in writing |
| Companies House status, number and last accounts date | Active; company number 10785149; last accounts made up to 31 May 2025 (Companies House, checked 27 October 2026) | Blue Llama Ltd, trading as Uplift Tax; company number 12642550; Active; last accounts made up to 29 November 2025 (Companies House, checked 27 October 2026) |
Best for
EmpowerRD may suit you if
- price transparency matters most: it publishes its percentages and minimum fees;
- you want HMRC enquiry support included in a plan (Growth plan, per its pricing page);
- you are comfortable with an online platform.
Uplift Tax may suit you if
- you want an introduction to an HMRC-registered specialist and its fee terms in writing before you engage;
- you want to compare a specialist's written quote with a platform's published price.
When the other option is the better choice
If you want to see a price before speaking to anyone, EmpowerRD gives you one and we do not publish a figure on this page. If you already have a written quote you are happy with, an introducer adds little. Compare the same claim, year and scope.
Worked example: a £200,000 claim
Figures are for illustration on a £200,000 benefit (the cash value of the claim to the company) and use only fees published in the sources linked on this page.
| Firm | Published fee basis | Fee on £200,000 | Net to the company |
|---|---|---|---|
| EmpowerRD (flat plan) | 6% of the benefit | £200,000 × 6% = £12,000 | £200,000 − £12,000 = £188,000 |
| EmpowerRD (Growth plan) | 6% up to £250,000 of benefit | £200,000 × 6% = £12,000 | £188,000 |
EmpowerRD's minimum fee (£4,000 flat, £5,000 Growth) does not apply at this claim size because 6% is higher. We found no statement on whether VAT is added; confirm it in writing.
Uplift Tax: The fee is quoted in writing for your claim, so we do not show a figure here. Send your numbers and we will arrange a written estimate.
Uplift Tax is an introducer. The specialist pays us a share of its fee. You do not pay Uplift Tax anything. See how our fees work.
EmpowerRD reviews and pricing (2026)
Reviews. On 27 October 2026, EmpowerRD's Trustpilot page showed a rating of 4.8 from 82 reviews. Trustpilot figures change and reflect the experiences of people who chose to review, not the outcome of any claim, so check the current page and read recent reviews.
Pricing. The fee tiers below are as published on EmpowerRD's pricing page on 27 October 2026.
| Plan | Published tier (share of the benefit) | Minimum fee |
|---|---|---|
| Flat plan | 6% | From £4,000 |
| Growth plan | 6% up to £250,000; 5% from £250,000 to £500,000; 3% from £500,000 to £750,000; 2% from £750,000 to £1m; 1% from £1m to £1.5m; 0.5% above £1.5m | From £5,000 |
In the sources we checked, the page does not say whether VAT is added or whether each band applies only to the part of the claim inside it; ask before you sign. On the Growth plan HMRC enquiry support is included. On the flat plan it is an extra with the hourly rate not stated, and the page also states a refund if an enquiry fails.
How Uplift Tax differs
Uplift Tax is an introducer. The specialist pays us a share of its fee. You do not pay Uplift Tax anything. We do not prepare the claim: the HMRC-registered specialist we introduce you to does, and it sets and states its fee in writing before work starts. See how our fees work. We do not publish a rate card on this page, so ask the specialist for the fee basis, any minimum fee, whether VAT applies and the enquiry terms, as you would ask any adviser. For the wider question of using an accountant, see specialist vs accountant.
HMRC enquiry support
For Uplift Tax, the scope of enquiry support is set out in writing in the engagement letter with the specialist. An enquiry can arrive after a claim is filed, so ask every adviser, including EmpowerRD and us, for their enquiry terms in writing before you sign. See what happens in an HMRC random enquiry.
Comparing EmpowerRD with other firms
If you are also considering ForrestBrown, see EmpowerRD vs ForrestBrown. EmpowerRD's sector focus and capital allowances are not stated in the sources we checked (27 October 2026), so ask directly if either matters to you.
Company facts
- EmpowerRD: Companies House name EMPOWERRD LIMITED; company number 10785149; status Active; incorporated 23 May 2017; last accounts made up to 31 May 2025. Companies House record (checked 27 October 2026).
- Uplift Tax: Blue Llama Ltd, trading as Uplift Tax; company number 12642550; status Active; incorporated 3 June 2020; last accounts made up to 29 November 2025. Companies House record (checked 27 October 2026).
Uplift Tax is an introducer, not a tax adviser, accountant or legal firm. Recovery values are indicative only.